Jurgita Jasponytė was born in 1981 in Zarasai. She had recieved a BA in Lithuanian philology and an MA in literature. She works as a librarian in Vilnius, raising her daughters Ugnė and Jūrė Jotvilė. Her poetry collection Šaltupė (the name of a Zarasai street, meaning “cold river”) won the Lithuanian Writer’s Union First Book Contest. In 2015, she won the Zigmas Gėlė Prize for best poetic debut. 

Her second poetry collection Vartai Auštrieji (The Sharp Gates of Dawn) was published in 2019 and was awarded Vladas Šlaitas Prize and also Vilnius Mayor Prize for poems about Vilnius.

The poet is a very original reciter of poetry, imbuing her poems with the tones of folklore songs. Jasponytė’s works have been translated into English, German, Latvian, Russian, Georgian, Ukrainian and Belarusian.


Photo (c): Gediminas Kajėnas

  • It Skriuwersboun
  • Embassy of Ireland
  • Austrian Cultural Forum
  • Greenlandic Writers Association
  • Hungarian Cultural Institute Brussels
  • Romanian Cultural Institute in Brussels
  • Embassy of the Republic of Estonia in Belgium
  • Ambassade du Luxembourg à Bruxelles
  • Ville de Bruxelles
  • Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren
  • Spain Arts and Culture - Cultural and Scientific Service of the Embassy of Spain in Belgium
  • Permanent Representation of the Republic of Estonia to the European Union
  • Camões Instituto de Cooperação e Língua Portugal
  • Orfeu - Livraria Portuguesa
  • Polish Institute - Cultural Service of the Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Brussels
  • Scottish Government EU Office
  • Czech Centre Brussels
  • Permanent Representation of the Republic of Slovenia to the European Union
  • Danish Cultural Institute
  • Instituto Cervantes Brussels
  • Lithuanian Culture Institute
  • Embassy of Sweden
  • Network to Promote Linguistic Diversity
  • Embassy of Andorra
  • LUCA School of Arts
  • Istituto Italiano di Cultura
  • Permanent Representation of Lithuania to the EU
  • Mission of the Faroes to the EU
  • MuntPunt
  • Greenland Representation to the European Union
  • Commission européenne
  • Etxepare Euskal Institutua
  • Yunus Emre Institute
  • LOFT 58
  • Leeuwarden Europan Capital of Culture 2018
  • Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union
  • Embassy of the Republic of Latvia to the Kingdom of Belgium
  • Swedish Institute